Member Bios

Alex Lloyd

Alex Lloyd christens the “Alex Lloyd” SRC Rowers’ Reunion 2015

Alex was born in 1990 and is 194cm tall and weighs 90kg. He started rowing in 2003 at Shore School and joined Sydney Rowing Club in 2009. In 2008, Alex won bronze at the Australian Rowing Championships in the Shore 1st VIII. In 2012 he won a silver medal at the Australian Rowing Championships in a Sydney composite U23 Four.

Alex teamed up with SRC’s Spencer Turrin in a coxless pair in 2012 and the partnership has gone from strength to strength with both being offered scholarships to the Australian Institute of Sport. They continued to row in a coxless pair and won silver at the national championships in 2012. They were then selected to row in Australia’s 2nd A coxless four at Rowing World Cup 1 in Sydney, where the also won a silver medal.

SRC Annual Dinner 2015 – Alex Lloyd

At the following national selection trials, Alex and Spencer won the coxless pair and were selected into the Australian coxless four, which is Australia’s priority boat. The crew won gold at the World Cup at Eton Dorney in 2013.

At the World Championships in 2013 in Chungju, South Korea the crew placed 2nd in the final, after the Dutch crew stole the gold medal from them in a heartbreaker, by a split second.

In 2014, Alex and Spencer won the Champion Pair of NSW, the Champion Four of NSW and the King’s Cup (along with SRC’s James Chapman). At the World Cup 1 in Sydney, they rowed in the winning Australian coxless four and the winning Australian eight.

At the 2014 Australian Rowing Championships, they placed 2nd in the coxless pair, then went on to earn the number one ranking in the coxless pair and coxless four at the Australian Rowing Team selection trials.

In the final of the 2014 World Rowing Championships in Amsterdam, their coxless four won the bronze medal.

Alex Lloyd receives the Phil Cayzer Award with Spencer Turrin 2015

Both Alex and Spencer are outstanding role models at Sydney Rowing Club and have been honoured with the Phil Cayzer Award for Most Outstanding Oarsman for two years in a row, both men wear the light blue with pride and we look forward to following their journey to Rio 2016.